Thursday, July 9, 2009

Nakshatra: Asterisms or Lunar Mansions

The Nakshatras are the central axes around which Indian Vedic astrology or Hindu astrology revolves. Their origin is unknown. Even the Vedas give exhaustive references to them. Planetary influences are significantly altered the impact of the asterisms. These lunar mansions, as they are called, should be studied carefully.
The Moon has a special relationship with the Nakshatras.These association of the moon with different asterisms fundamentally alters the character of a horoscope. The very nature of the moon becomes different in certain Nakshatra.They a planet is placed under the direct radiation of a lunar mansion, it is not necessarily the planet’s basic nature which flows to the recipient; instead, a Nakshatra influence reaches the individual. The Planetary periods in the life cycle of an individual ,which are a peculiar contribution of Hindu astrology or Indian horoscope, flow from the position of the Nakshatras.These characteristics of the Nakshatras make them very special, requiring careful examination of their nature and mode of operation.
At one time there were twenty-eight Nakshatra forming the circle of 360 degree, but at some historical epoch of which we know but little, one of them was ommited.Presently.Indian or Vedic astrology recognizes twenty-seven Nakshatras.Beginning with the initial point of the zodiac 0 degrees of Aries, each Nakshatra consists of 13 degree 20’ on the path of the ecliptic. Each Nakshatra is further divided into four parts known as padas, which means ‘feet’. Each Nakshatra as well as each Pada is associated with a different planet. All these factors must be carefully appraised in order to predict the future of the individual.
The three gunas-Sattva, Rajas and Tamas-also affect each Nakshatra differently. Within the primary flow of a guna, there will be a secondary and tertiary flow from the other two. These attributes reveal the inner propensities of the asterisms in their various shades and nuances.
The Nakshatras are also categorized according to the four basic motivations of a human being,Artha(Meaningful action),Kama(Passional action),dharma(righteous action) and Moksha(liberation, karma-less action).When a Nakshatra is categorized, it reveals the general impulse of that Nakshatra.
Each Nakshatra has a dual role. When an individual passes through evolutionary stages of development, the effect of the asterism will be of one kind, while its impact on those who are on evolutionary paths will be different, though related to the same basic impulse.
There are 27 Nakshatras (asterism) or Constellations are considered in Indian astrology as follows...

1. ASHWINI Birth star
2. BHARANI Birth star
3. KRITIKA Birth star
4. ROHINI Birth star
5. MRIGASHIRA Birth star
6. AARDRA Birth star
7. PUNARVASU Birth star
8. PUSHYA Birth star
9. AASLESHA Birth star
10. MAGHA Birth star
11. PURVA PHALGUNI Birth star
12. UTTARA PHALGUNI Birth star
13. HASTA Birth star
14. CHITRA Birth star
15. SWATI Birth star
16. VISHAKHA Birth star
17. ANURADHA Birth star
18. JYESHTHA Birth star
19. MOOLA Birth star
20. POORVAASHADHA Birth star
21. UTTARAASHADHA Birth star
22. SHRAVANI Birth star
23. DHANISTHA Birth star
24. SHATABHISHA Birth star
27. REVATI Birth star

1 comment:

  1. Very useful information. How do we associate the lunar zodiac signs with these asterisms?